Yum, Yum, Yumvelope!

Last month I heard about Yumvelope, a subscription that comes in an envelope, and I immediately thought that I had to try it.  I wanted to try it for two reasons.  The first reason is that I love to try new foods.  The second reason is that I wanted to see how much stuff can really fit in a priority mail envelope.  Yumvelope, sends out an array of at least six full size foods a month and donates a meal for ever package purchased.  Yumvelope is $21.00 a month.  Since they use priority mail, the shipping is super fast.

Image

This is the Yumvelope.  It is heavy and it looks like it is going to burst.  I guess you really can fit a lot in a priority envelope.  When I opened the envelope I pulled out a box that kept the food from being squished, and when I opened the box it was full of delicious looking goodies and a mysteriously wrapped package.

IMG_0606

This month’s package includes six items and $58 in Plated Membership credits.  Plated is a company that delivers fresh ingredients right to your door to cook into home cooked meals.  A $58 credit will get four meals and a one month membership, but does not cover the $6.99 shipping fee.  I really want to try Plated out, but they do not deliver to where I live.  Hopefully they will soon.

Three of the six items are packets of Wild Friends Nut Butter in three different flavors.  I tried the Cinnamon Raisin Peanut Butter on raisin bread and it was nummy.  Wild Friends Nut Butter retails for $9.99 for a ten pack.  The next item was grabbed by my two-year old as soon as I took it out of the box.  It is a Smooch Fruit Pouch ($2.00) and just like all other fruit pouches it was not safe around a 2.5 year old.  Judging by the fact that she ate the whole pouch I would say it is a winner.  Next out was a coffee flavored Morning Sunshine Breakfast Cookie ($2.00).  I am not a huge fan of coffee, so this treat was handed off to my coffee loving partner.  When I unwrapped the mystery package I discovered a Miraculous Mixes brown sugar blondie mix ($8.99).  I am so excited to make these when my gluten-free mom comes to visit.  Hopefully they will taste as awesome as they sound.

IMG_0611

All in all I thought that for $21 Yumvelope sends out a great selection of treats to try.  I was a little disappointed that three of the six items were so closely related, but if they all taste as good as the one I tried, I can’t be too sad.  Also, any box that can get my daughter to eat a fruit or vegetable is a winner.  If you want to find out more about Yumvelope check out https://www.yumvelope.com.  IMG_0612

Disclaimer- Yumvelope gave me a discount on this month’s deliver.  However, all opinions are my own.  Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

